David Squires Foundation

Every year, we offer scholarships to students in IT programs. Applications are accepted between September 1 to November 30th.

The Squires Foundation was Founded in 1994

We Promote Excellence

At the David Squires Foundation, we are dedicated to promoting excellence in the field of IT. Our scholarships are designed to empower bright minds, providing them with the resources they need to excel in their studies and make significant contributions to the tech industry. Join us in fostering a culture of excellence.

We Sponsor Research

Fueling innovation is at the heart of what we do. Through our scholarships, the David Squires Foundation sponsors groundbreaking research in IT. We believe that supporting cutting-edge research not only drives technological advancements but also empowers scholars to explore new frontiers. Be a part of our mission to drive research forward.

We Support Education

Education is the foundation upon which great careers are built. Our foundation is committed to supporting the education of aspiring IT students, ensuring they receive the best learning opportunities. By providing scholarships, mentorship, and resources, we strive to empower the next generation of IT professionals. Join us in shaping a brighter future through education.

Students Assisted

$ 40000 +
Funds Released
0 +
Students Helped

Our History

We’ve worked on improving the lives of over 50 young people through our scholarship.

David L. Squires, a revered and esteemed faculty member at Memorial University of Newfoundland, was widely recognized for his unwavering dedication to fostering student success. He held a prominent position within the Data Processing Management Association (DPMA), underscoring his profound influence in the field. In commemoration of his impactful legacy, colleagues within the DPMA founded The Squires Foundation, an institution steadfastly committed to funding educational to students who need it and excel at their program.

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

Scholarships awarded annually, to students who fulfill these requirements:

Students must meet all requirements to qualify*

2022 Scholarship Winners

Next application period is September 1st to October 31st.

Past Scholarship Recipients

  • $500 winner – Rocky Au – University of Lethbridge
  • $500 winner – Mohiuddin Faiyaz – McMaster University
  • $500 winner – Kiara Melocoton – University of British Columbia
  • $500 winner – Reza Parnian – University of Guelph
  • $500 winner – Abdoalah Aboelneil – University of New Brunswick
  • $500 winner – Royce Lando – Brock University
  • $500 winner – Seeratpal Jaura – University of Winnipeg
  • $500 winner – Jacob Kelley – University of Toronto


$500 winner – Ranim Aljoudi – University of Windsor

$500 winner – Darian Chen – University of Alberta


$500 winner – Jamie Koerner – University of British

$500 winner – Oladele Ojewole – University of Winnipeg


$750 winner – Amy Channing – Wilfrid Laurier University

$750 winner – Eric Roberts – Vancouver Island University


$750 winner – Christina Chung – University of Toronto

$750 winner – Weige Zhao – University of Western Ontario


$750 winner – Susannah Kirby – UBC


$1000 winner – Alex Gagnon – Universitie’ de Sherbrooke

$1000 winner – Camera Lerner – University of Lethbridge


$1000 winner – Ilya Sharikov – Camosun College

$1000 winner – Jeremy Wheaton – Acadia University


$1000 winner – John Wu Qiongzhi – Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner – Erin Sheridan – George Brown College


$1000 winner – Peggy Lau – Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner – Brittany Barnett – Dalhousie University


$1000 winner – Mr. Rami Aboushawish – University of Windsor

$1000 winner – Ms. Elaina Bindig – Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology

$1000 winner – Ms. Elaine Reynolds – George Brown College

$1000 winner – Mr. John Doucette – Dalhousie University


$1000 winner – Ms. Keisha Archibald – St. Marys University

$1000 winner – Ms. Negin Salahi – Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner – Mr. Allen Wallace – Camosun College

$1000 winner – Ms. Christie Wilson – British Columbia Institute of Technology


$1000 winner – Mr. Ryan Strate – University of Alberta

$1000 winner – Mr. Mat Allen – University of New Brunswick

$1000 winner – Mr. Phil Abraham – University of Victoria


$1200 winner – Mr. Joel Andrews – Camosun College

$1200 winner – Mr. Geoffrey Spears – Camosun College


$1200 winner – Mr. Azim Lila – York University

$1200 winner – Mr. Michael Marganelli – British Columbia Institute of Technology


$1200 winner – Ms. Shelly Christine Andrews – British Columbia Institute of Technology

$1200 winner – Ms. Fazilah Remu – University of Victoria

$1200 winner – Mr. Ryan M. Graham – British Columbia Institute of Technology


$1000 winner – Mr. Yao-Nan Chu – Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner – Ms. Katherin Alexanterian – Simon Fraser University


$1000 winner – Ms. Karen Bertram – Northern Alberta Institute of Technolgy

$1000 winner – Mr. John M. Parker – Memorial University of Newfoundland


$500 winner – Ms. Sandy Pang – Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner – Ms. Adrienne Dick – Douglas College

$1000 winner – Mr. Craig Pastro – Simon Fraser University


Christopher Collins – Memorial University of Newfoundland

Eveline Widjaya – University of Regina, Saskatchewan


Rob Thorndyke – University of Victoria, British Columbia

Alan Barton – University of Victoria, British Columbia


Colby Smith

Our Privacy Policy

Rest assured, your financial and confidential data will be safeguarded and used exclusively for the evaluation of our scholarship applications. The student number is necessary for cross-referencing educational institution records. If you are chosen for the award, we require your social insurance number to issue a T4A Tax Form. If physical documentation is needed, kindly confirm possession and provide a brief overview. If selected based on electronic submission, you’ll need to provide physical evidence before receiving the award.

  • John Sherrah, Scholarship Selection Committee
  • David Calder, President of The David Squires Foundation 

Apply Online Today

Scholarship application period is open from September 1st annually.

If you have any questions please contact David Calder at davidcalder@shaw.ca

Scroll to Top